Home > Accreditation & Evaluation > Centres of Excellence

Department of Science and Technology (DST)/National Research Foundation (NRF) Centres of Excellence (CoE)

The CoEs are physical or virtual research centres that concentrate existing research excellence, capacity and resources to enable researchers to collaborate across disciplines and institutions on long-term projects. These research projects are locally relevant and internationally competitive.

The five key performance areas of the CoEs are:

  • research/knowledge production
  • education and training; Information brokerage
  • networking
  • service rendering.

Read more on the NRF site or find out more about UCT’s Centres of Excellence.